There is a fine line between shitty scary movie and not-so-bad scary movie.

So these next two movies actually weren’t too shabby. But like the title of this post says, there is a fine line between… ^^aw heck, just re-read the title.^^

Session 9 (2001) and The Pact (2012) are two movies that actually are a step above my standard shitty scary movie. They weren’t good because they were so bad; they were actually just kinda good. I did think The Pact was the better of the two.

Session 9 would be the movie about asbestos removers that I referenced in the last post. It takes place in an abandoned mental institution (yes another one). I don’t know what it is about abandoned mental institutions that I love so much, but they are the coolest. The movie was filmed at Danvers State Insane Asylum.

Image

This movie was a bit of a thinker. The setting was great. There were creepy sights, creepy sounds, creepy errthang. This crew of guys goes into the abandoned asylum, claiming to be able to rid it of asbestos in just a week. Of course their progress is hindered when the haunts of the old asylum get into all of their heads. It wasn’t terrifying by any means. There weren’t any “jumpy” moments or anything like that. It was more along the lines of a mindf*ck… but maybe more like a mind-heavy-petting.

Image

You know when you’re watching a movie, and you can just tell it was cheaply made and is going to be terrible? This did not have that going on for it, and it definitely kept me interested.

The Pact is the type of movie that has you holding your breath almost the entire time, just waiting for something creepy to pop out. It does a good job of building up the creepy moments–not with that stereotypical music that says “something terrible is about to come onto screen,” but rather with silence (which makes it so much freakier).

Another thing worth mentioning about both this movie and Session 9 is that they were filmed in third person (yay!!).

The Pact has the types of scenes in it that, if you watched when you were a kid, would make you want to pull the covers up over your head when you go to bed. So although it didn’t affect me quite the same way as an adult, my point is it was really freakin’ creepy!

Image

This movie also made me realize that scary figures are *always* tall and skinny. And it got me thinking that there needs to be a shake-up in the scary movie world. Let’s get some ghosts/creepy night wanderers with beer bellies. When the camera slowly scans a room and a tall, unusually skinny figure with a concave chest comes onto screen, it is terrifying. Would there be a similar effect with a stout individual? I don’t know, but I’d like to see it happen.

Concluding, this movie had all things creepy going for it; and the plot was good (which is just the cherry on top of the sundae, because that’s usually the least of my concerns when it comes to scary movies). The title didn’t make a whole lot of sense to me after seeing the movie, but it doesn’t all have to make sense.

About sheedzor2390

My parents let me watch just about whatever I wanted as a tot. Let me tell you, watching The Exorcist at 7-years-old will make you tough as nails. I believe I am better for it. One of my life goals is to be in a crappy, low-budge horror flick. The best time of year? Halloween, when all the best of the worst movies are played. My Netflix suggestions? Macabre. Romantic comedies? Kafkaesque. On the other hand, I do enjoy a good romantic tragedy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to There is a fine line between shitty scary movie and not-so-bad scary movie.

  1. noreen sheedy says:

    i have to agree with your observations. but, in our house, it’s the two tall and lanky individuals who are, in actuality, the scariest. just sayin.

Leave a Reply

