It has that girl from Pineapple Express in it.

Yes, this girl. 

Image

Amber Heard

The Ward (2010) started off promising then quickly hit a wall for me. Continuity is important in a movie. You’ve got to stay true to whatever era your movie takes place in. That’s why there are costume and makeup artists, and people who study the small details like dialects, etc.

Getting a movie that takes place in the 1960s right should not be that hard. It wasn’t that long ago. Hell, John Carpenter directed it and he was born over a decade prior. Yet the leading lady comes onto screen looking like Kesha, rocking the name “Kristen.”

According to socialsecurity.gov’s “Top Names of the 1960s,” the name “Kristen” was ranked the 193rd most popular female name of the 1960s. I’ll give the movie that–it actually made it onto the top 200 list of popular names. I wasn’t there in the 60s so I wanted to look into that. “Kristen” didn’t seem like a very popular name for that time, but I’m being a little nitpicky with that one perhaps. More importantly, Heard’s Kesha-esque hairstyle definitely does not fit that era. She eventually gets a hairstyle/wardrobe that actually works for the 1960s, but starting the movie like that made me feel like I was watching a movie from 2013. I want to be taken away to the exact place the movie intends for me to go–a 1960s psych ward. After the movie ends, I want to feel like I had just time traveled.

Image

ImageHair and makeup rant aside, the movie eventually incorporates an evil creature that conducts the killings and it’s all downhill from there. All promise the movie had=lost. When you bring in a computer animated creature, or even just someone in costume/makeup, it’s got to be done right. Creepy little girl form The Ring? Nailed it. You know that movie gave you nightmares. The Ward’s ghost looks like a villain from Scooby-Doo.

And she would have gotten away with those killings if it weren’t for that pesky Kesha wannabe…

About sheedzor2390

My parents let me watch just about whatever I wanted as a tot. Let me tell you, watching The Exorcist at 7-years-old will make you tough as nails. I believe I am better for it. One of my life goals is to be in a crappy, low-budge horror flick. The best time of year? Halloween, when all the best of the worst movies are played. My Netflix suggestions? Macabre. Romantic comedies? Kafkaesque. On the other hand, I do enjoy a good romantic tragedy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It has that girl from Pineapple Express in it.

  1. John s says:

    A total bomb. Find something else to do with your time then this one.

Leave a Reply

