“House of Fears”… More like “House of Awesome.”

House of Fears (2007) is a solid “group of friends leave party to engage in additional illegal shenanigans only to meet an untimely demise” type of horror flick.

Image

The movie takes place in a haunted house, which attracted me to it to begin with. It reminded me of a similar movie I saw probably a decade ago called The Funhouse (1981). The Funhouse was way creepier, I recall, and not just because I was 13 when I saw it. I will have to revisit it and give it a post of its own. I’m also just a big fan of haunted houses in general, so I gave this movie a try.

I’ll start with my only couple of complaints: 1) Jared Padalecki had a 3-second cameo. I got excited thinking he’d be in the whole movie, but no such luck. He was one of Rory Gilmore’s finest of boyfriends, and this movie would’ve been tops if he were in the whole thing. 2) There was a creepy awesome clown on the cover, and there wasn’t as much actual clown action in the movie as I would’ve liked.

ImageImage

The movie has a nice, smooth flow. It doesn’t dive right into the action, and it sets up the impending doom by laying out some of the characters’ fears (foreboding much?). A fair deal of violence and gore ensues, but nothing on par with Saw or Hostel. Characters get picked off one by one as they make their way through the haunted house. There is no physical, human killer; but rather the teens’ fears (connected to a monkey statue uncovered in Africa at the beginning of the film) take on the killing role.

Who, if anyone, will survive this house of fears!? Well, Jared Padalecki for one…

Watch to find out.

About sheedzor2390

My parents let me watch just about whatever I wanted as a tot. Let me tell you, watching The Exorcist at 7-years-old will make you tough as nails. I believe I am better for it. One of my life goals is to be in a crappy, low-budge horror flick. The best time of year? Halloween, when all the best of the worst movies are played. My Netflix suggestions? Macabre. Romantic comedies? Kafkaesque. On the other hand, I do enjoy a good romantic tragedy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “House of Fears”… More like “House of Awesome.”

  1. John s says:

    Started offf slow but had some good action.

  2. noreen sheedy says:

    you wanted more clown action??? disturbing!!! nothing worse in life than a clown.

Leave a Reply

