“Lovely Molly”…More like “Ungodly Folly.”

Lovely Molly (2011) begins with footage from a wedding, where a happy couple celebrates with family and friends. Then it cuts to the couple’s current living arrangement, which happens to be the leading lady’s (Molly’s) dead parents’ old house. 

Just to give you a good idea of the flow of this movie, let me take you through some of my thoughts during it:

 

“Oh wow this movie is jumping right into the action. OH MY GOD SO CREEPY.”

“Oh man I can’t wait to see where this is going. SO. CREEPY.”

“Alright… kinda slowing down a bit. Where is this going?”

“Good lord this is a graphic sex scene.”

“Ok, what the f*ck.”

“Well… I guess I’ve spent an hour and a half of my time in worse ways… No probably not. At least I can blog about it and warn others of the terrors I’ve just witnessed.”

 

The movie started with some genuinely scary material. I was holding my breath with my hands held up to my face, feeling the suspense. Molly and her husband Tim’s lives take a turn for the worse quickly. Molly used to have drug problems, which start to plague her again. And basically the rest of the movie takes you on the journey of her slowly slipping into insanity. There’s obviously something haunting her from her past, which her sister is also well aware of; but Molly’s husband seems out of the loop.

Image

But nothing ever comes out; nothing is answered; everything is lost in weird metaphors. I realize art/movies don’t always have to answer everything or come right out with the facts. I understand this and I can be perfectly content not being spoon fed plots. But Lovely Molly just leaves you feeling like you chowed down on some bad portobellos for dinner. It doesn’t play the “leaving you in suspense and full of questions” card well. 

So, if you enjoy staring at all your fellow audience members after a movie in complete disbelief and confusion… watch this movie. Now enjoy a couple disturbing images from the movie that will leave you as baffled as I still am.

Image

 

Image

About sheedzor2390

My parents let me watch just about whatever I wanted as a tot. Let me tell you, watching The Exorcist at 7-years-old will make you tough as nails. I believe I am better for it. One of my life goals is to be in a crappy, low-budge horror flick. The best time of year? Halloween, when all the best of the worst movies are played. My Netflix suggestions? Macabre. Romantic comedies? Kafkaesque. On the other hand, I do enjoy a good romantic tragedy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Lovely Molly”…More like “Ungodly Folly.”

  1. noreen sheedy says:

    i agree whole-heartedly with u on this one. that rotting deer carcass that she was kinda rolling around in was off-putting…and gross even for me (i can usually handle gross). and im just never a fan of full frontal nudity…when it’s a chick, that is.

Leave a Reply

