Tall People Reign Supremely Frightening

The Tall Man (2012) was less scary than it was suspenseful, and ended by tugging at my heart strings. Without giving too much away, I can say that this movie is based on the abduction of children, but it isn’t at all what it seems and there is a twist ending fit to be in the catalogue of M. Night Shyamalan. The movie had enough power to make my maternal instincts kick in and ultimately made me salty. Although the lack of jumpy moments was somewhat upsetting, I’d say this was an overall good movie. It wasn’t entirely what I was expecting, but that’s nice sometimes.

First and foremost, I saw that Jessica Biel stars in it (Let me show you a few things, show you a few thiiiings abouuut loooove). Any movie that stars what I might consider to be a D-list actor (although she did kind of nail the role of Mary Camden on 7th Heaven) automatically seems like a good idea.

Image

The movie left me questioning the morality of the twist ending. It was the same feeling I had after the movie Gone Baby Gone. It was not the most action packed and bordered on the mundane side after the initial shock of what’s happening in this small town (like the first half hour); but again, the ending will leave you with a little something to chew on.

About sheedzor2390

My parents let me watch just about whatever I wanted as a tot. Let me tell you, watching The Exorcist at 7-years-old will make you tough as nails. I believe I am better for it. One of my life goals is to be in a crappy, low-budge horror flick. The best time of year? Halloween, when all the best of the worst movies are played. My Netflix suggestions? Macabre. Romantic comedies? Kafkaesque. On the other hand, I do enjoy a good romantic tragedy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tall People Reign Supremely Frightening

  1. noreen sheedy says:

    again, i agree with your thoughts on this one. although this one actually made me kinda like jessica timberlake. i loved the ending, and i can appreciate your comparing it to gone baby gone. leaves the floor open for a lot of discussion. but, u mentioned something about your “maternal instincts” kicking in??? wth??!!!

Leave a Reply

