Called it!

Knife Edge (2009). This is commentary, right? I’m allowed to be biased. I can like movies for silly reasons, and I often do. I really, really liked this movie and the first couple of reasons have nothing to do with the plot.

1) I used my noodle, made a prediction early on in the movie about what was to happen later, and my prediction was right. I NEVER do this. I enjoy living in the “now” of the movie. I like to observe the characters’ mannerisms, what they’re wearing, the atmosphere of the movie, etc. I’m far too caught up in “the now” of the movie that I don’t set aside some mind space for predicting what’s going to happen. I enjoy letting the movie unfold at its own pace.

I’m definitely not that person you go to a movie with that slowly leans over 20 minutes in, creepily whispering (because you’re in a theater, mind you; have some creepy respect), “I thiiink I knooow where this is goiiiing.” No. I’m the one who sits through the entire movie without a peep of prediction; and when the movie reaches the climax, I’m like, “Oh no sh*t! It was the butler all along. Makes sense.” Note: There was no butler killer in Knife Edge. Or…was…there? Guess you’ll just have to find out.

2) Accents! French…British…all very pleasing to the earholes. Plus the leading lady’s son is constantly dressed like a proper, little gentleman throughout the film. The costume designer can dress me any day of the week; there were some great fashion choices being thrown around in this movie.

Image

The atmosphere was phenomenal. The leading lady, Emma, decides to move back to England to start a family with her husband and her child from a previous marriage. Her husband Henri surprises her by buying them an old lodge to live in. The lodge and grounds make for the perfect scary movie setting.

Image

Of course as soon as the family gets settled in, weird stuff starts to happen. Emma starts to have night terrors and sees terrifying visions of what she assumes to be the lodge’s past. She questions why her husband bought this particular property as he spends more and more time away from the house and has night terrors of his own.

Image

Knife Edge, you done good. I give this movie two thumbs up (although it does have the rooftop chase scene that I may or may not have mentioned recently). Hey, it’s a scary movie. It should have a stereotype or two, right?

About sheedzor2390

My parents let me watch just about whatever I wanted as a tot. Let me tell you, watching The Exorcist at 7-years-old will make you tough as nails. I believe I am better for it. One of my life goals is to be in a crappy, low-budge horror flick. The best time of year? Halloween, when all the best of the worst movies are played. My Netflix suggestions? Macabre. Romantic comedies? Kafkaesque. On the other hand, I do enjoy a good romantic tragedy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Called it!

  1. noreen sheedy says:

    i liked this one as well. i share your love of accents and atmosphere. and your honesty about not being the one who unravels the mystery of a movie 20 minutes in made me smile. are you suggesting that you didnt know bruce willis was dead in the sixth sense, before the end of the movie? or perhaps even after you left the theater???

Leave a Reply

